CRICKET: British Eurosport to broadcast Twenty20 Champions League


British Eurosport will broadcast exclusive live coverage of the 2011 Nokia Champions League Twenty20 this autumn.

Leicestershire Foxes and Somerset Sabres will be England’s representatives in the competition, as they join the world’s top teams for the third edition of the premier T20 tournament.

Coverage includes live action from up to two games daily and highlights on British Eurosport and British Eurosport 2.

The Nokia Champions League Twenty20 will take place in India and sees the best teams from Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Sri Lanka, India, England and the Caribbean competing for a multi-million dollar prize fund.

Somerset Sabres and Leicestershire Foxes will play in the qualifiers first, hoping to make it to the group stages proper.

The county sides emerged from a thrilling series of semi-finals in Edgbaston to take their places in India.

Leicestershire have been drawn in Qualifying Group B alongside Trinidad & Tobago and Ruhunu Rhinos of Sri Lanka while Somerset face Kolkata Knight Riders and New Zealand’s Auckland Aces.

The tournament begins on Monday 19th September, with two live games – Trinidad & Tobago v Ruhuna Rhinos, followed by Kolkata Knight Riders v Auckland Aces – Live on British Eurosport 2.

The final will be shown exclusively live on British Eurosport on Sunday 9th October.

“We are delighted once again to bring live coverage of the Champions League Twenty20,” said David Kerr, Managing Director, Eurosport UK.

“We look forward to seeing Somerset Sabres and Leicestershire Foxes competing amongst the world’s best teams in this format. Cricket fans are sure to be excited by witnessing some of the sport’s biggest names in action in what is sure to be a great spectacle.”

Champions League Twenty20 marks the grand finale of the T20 cricket season and features some of the biggest names in the game including MS Dhoni (Chennai Super Kings), and Sachin Tendulkar (Mumbai Indians).

With 10 teams competing, the champions of 2009, Australia’s NSW Blues, return as do last year’s winners, India’s Chennai Super Kings. Qualified teams include Cape Cobras, Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Warriors, and South Australian Redbacks.

Full Nokia Champions League Twenty 20 schedule – CLICK HERE

British Eurosport is available on Sky 410 and Virgin Media 521. British Eurosport 2 is available on Sky 411 & Virgin Media 525.

Additional live coverage and video on demand available online via Eurosport Player:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: