AWARDS: BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2012 shortlist unveiled

Following an unprecedented year of sport, the BBC has announced the final shortlist of 12 sportspeople who make up the shortlist for BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2012.

This year’s list, revealed live on the BBC’s One Show programme by presenter Gary Lineker, reflects the success of a truly remarkable year and the exceptional achievements of British sportsmen and women.

The 12 shortlisted contenders will now compete for the public vote on the night of the live show, which will be presented by Sue Barker, Gary Lineker and Clare Balding, on BBC One and BBC One HD on Sunday, December 16, starting at 7.30pm.

A capacity crowd of 15,000 at the ExCel in London will make it the biggest show in the event’s 59-year history, with the running time extended to two-and-a-half hours.

It will be a star-studded climax to 12 months of sport which saw London host the 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games.

In a change to previous years, an expert panel of sports specialists, headed by the BBC’s director of sport Barbara Slater, put together the shortlist for the 2012 show.

The expert panel will also choose the first, second and third places for the Team of the Year, Overseas Personality of the Year and Coach of the Year awards.

With an array of candidates to choose from, the panel faced some difficult choices finalising the shortlist, which was extended from 10 to 12 to reflect a brilliant year for British sport.

Chair of the panel Barbara Slater, said: “If we ever needed reminding just how special a sporting year it has been, then the list of those sportspeople who did not make the final 12 is testament to that.”

BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2012 shortlist:

  • Nicola Adams (Boxing)
  • Ben Ainslie (Sailing)
  • Jessica Ennis (Athletics)
  • Mo Farah (Athletics)
  • Katherine Grainger (Rowing)
  • Sir Chris Hoy (Cycling)
  • Rory McIlroy (Golf)
  • Andy Murray (Tennis)
  • Ellie Simmonds (Swimming)
  • Sarah Storey (Cycling)
  • David Weir (Athletics)
  • Bradley Wiggins (Cycling)

More details on the sports panel and shortlisting process – CLICK HERE

The public will be able to vote for their BBC Sports Personality of the Year by telephone.

Details of the numbers to vote on will be announced during the programme.

In addition to the main award of Sports Personality of the Year there will also be awards for:

  • Team of the Year
  • Coach of the Year
  • Overseas Sports Personality of the Year
  • Young Sports Personality of the Year
  • Lifetime Achievement
  • Helen Rollason Award  
  • Sports Unsung Hero

For voting criteria on all the Awards, further information and updates, visit


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: