SWIMMING: FINA World Short Course Championships 2012 – Live on British Eurosport

Following on from the European Championships in France last month, British Eurosport now turns its attention to the world stage with live action from the 11th FINA World Swimming Short Course Championships in Istanbul.

A 19-strong British team will take on some of the world’s top short course swimmers as they descend on the Sinan Erdem Dome in Turkey’s second city for the final major meeting of the calendar year from December 12-16.

Included in the squad are 16 swimmers from the Olympic team, including 200m breaststroke silver medallist Michael Jamieson (pictured above), who will be making his first international appearance of the new swimming season.

Alongside him in the GB team will be fellow Olympian Hannah Miley, who came away from last month’s European Short Course Championships with one gold and one silver medal and a new European Record.

Britain’s Jazz Carlin makes her return to the GB team for the championships having missed out on a place in the London 2012 squad.

She is joined by Jemma Lowe, Georgia Davies and Ieuan Lloyd, along with Olympians Robbie Renwick and Fran Halsall, herself a four-time world short course medallist.

Stockport swimmer Sophie Allen will also be looking to build on the success she has had during the FINA World Cup Series this autumn.

Allen, who has won five medals including two gold, will be looking to improve on the personal best times she has set en route at her World Short Course debut.

Double European Junior champion Matthew Johnson will be making his first appearance on a full senior side in Turkey along with Georgia Hohmann.

The meet follows on from the recent European Short Course Championships in France, where Britain finished eighth in the medals table, returning with one gold, two silver and two bronze medals.

British Eurosport will have extensive coverage of the event from December 12-16, with live coverage of both the morning heats and the afternoon finals on the opening two days.


Craig Benson (Warrender Baths)
Daniel Fogg (British Gas ITC Loughborough)
Michael Jamieson (British Gas ITC Bath)
Matthew Johnson (City of Sheffield)
Ieuan Lloyd (City of Cardiff)
Roberto Pavoni (British Gas ITC Loughborough)
Robbie Renwick (City of Glasgow)
Chris Walker-Hebborn (British Gas ITC Bath)
Andrew Willis (British Gas ITC Bath)
Sophie Allen (British Gas ITC Stockport)
Jazz Carlin (British Gas ITC Swansea)
Georgia Davies (British Gas ITC Swansea)
Eleanor Faulkner (City of Sheffield)
Fran Halsall (British Gas ITC Loughborough)
Georgia Hohmann (Loughbrough University)
Jemma Lowe (British Gas ITC Swansea)
Hannah Miley (Garioch SC)
Elizabeth Simmonds (British Gas ITC Bath)
Rebecca Turner (City of Sheffield)


CLICK HERE for competition schedule

Wednesday 12th December
Day 1
Heats LIVE: 8.00am-9.30am – British Eurosport
Finals LIVE: 5.00pm-6.45pm – British Eurosport
Thursday 13th December
Day 2 
Heats LIVE: 8.00am-9.45am – British Eurosport
Finals LIVE: 5.00pm-6.00pm – British Eurosport
Friday 14th December
Day 3
Heats LIVE: 8.00am-9.30am – British Eurosport
Finals DELAYED: 11.00pm-12.30pm – British Eurosport
Saturday 15th December
Day 4
Heats LIVE: 8.00am-9.45am – British Eurosport
Sunday 16th December
Day 5
Finals DELAYED: 12.00am-1.00am (Mon) – British Eurosport

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: