TENNIS: ATP World Tour Finals 2011 – Live on Sky Sports / BBC TV

November 17, 2011

After a gruelling and fiercely competitive year on the men’s tennis circuit, the world’s best descend on London once again to battle for supremecy at the Barclays ATP World Tour Finals – live on Sky Sports and BBC Television.

In the third staging of the traditional season-finale at the O2 Arena, the top-eight singles players and doubles pairings go head-to-head for the chance to claim most prestigious title in the sport outside of the grand slams.

Read the rest of this entry »

BROADCASTING: BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2011 – Live from Salford Quays

September 19, 2011

This year’s Sports Personality of the Year will be held at the BBC’s new studios at MediaCityUK, Salford Quays, the corporation has confirmed.

The new home of BBC Sport will become the eleventh different venue to play host to the annual sporting celebration on Thursday 22nd December.

This year’s show has been switched to a Thursday evening slot to accomodate the schedules of some of the likely contenders for the main award, and to avoid a head-to-head clash with ITV’s X Factor final.

SPOTY’s regular presenting trio of Sue Barker, Gary Lineker and Jake Humphrey will return to host proceedings for a fourth successive year together on BBC One and BBC One HD.

Read the rest of this entry »

RUGBY UNION: Rugby World Cup 2011 on ITV

July 28, 2011

  • All games live on ITV1 and ITV4, broadcast in high definition and simulcast live on
  • Steve Rider and Craig Doyle lead ITV’s Rugby World Cup team
  • Highlights broadcast every evening on ITV1 and ITV4
  • New Zealand born singer Hayley Westenra performs 2011 version of ‘World In Union’

ITV Sport kicks off coverage of the 2011 Rugby World Cup from New Zealand, with live coverage of every match – from the opening game through to the Rugby World Cup Final on October 23rd.  

Veteran sports presenter Steve Rider will front ITV’s coverage, with Craig Doyle also presenting some games and highlights programmes.

They will be joined by a team of expert former players who have won six World Cups between them, including Lawrence Dallaglio, Michael Lynagh, Sean Fitzpatrick, Francois Pienaar and Phil Vickery.

Read the rest of this entry »